Word of Mouth

Here are some of the nice things book reviewers and other authors have said about me and my novels. If any not-so-nice comments were made, they have mysteriously vanished from my files!


“A beautifully realized evocation of time and place; 1950s New York City comes alive for those of us who were there and even those who weren’t. Amanda Matetsky has created a very funny and interesting female protagonist, Paige Turner, and put her in the repressed and male-dominated year of 1954, which works like a charm. This is more than a murder mystery; this is great writing by a fresh talent.” —Nelson DeMille

“Amanda Matetsky has created a wonderfully sassy character in the unfortunately named Paige Turner. In her 1950s world where gals are peachy and cigarettes dangle from the lips of every private dick, a busty platinum blonde finds herself at the wrong end of a rope and Paige is on the case of a swell whodunit, sweetheart. Delightfully nostalgic and gripping. Irresistible.” —Sarah Strohmeyer, author of Bubbles All the Way

Murderers Prefer Blondes is a gas; full of vivid characters and so sharp in its depiction of the fifties when you read it you’ll feel like you’re sipping champagne in the Copacabana.” —Betsy Thornton, author of A Song for You

“A great idea well-executed—fast, funny and suspenseful!” —Max Allan Collins, author of Deadly Beloved

“Prepare to be utterly charmed by the irrepressible Paige Turner, and take an enchanting trip back in time to New York City, circa 1954. Murderers Prefer Blondes is a thoroughly fun read.” —Dorothy Cannell, author of Goodbye, Ms. Chips

“Paige Turner is the liveliest, most charming detective to emerge in crime fiction in a long time. She is the product of her time and place—New York in the fifties—with a little Betty Boop and a little Brenda Starr in her makeup, but she is also her own woman, funny, smart, energetic, brave, hard-working, and determined to get to the bottom of the mystery. She is irresistible, a force of nature.” —Ann Waldron, author of The Princeton Impostor

Murder on a Hot Tin Roof is a whirling roller coaster ride into the world of 1950s theater and pop culture, with a thoroughly engaging heroine and plenty of laughs... Other authors have sassy/saucy lead characters but Amanda Matetsky’s Paige Turner is in a class by herself.” —Michael Allan Mallory, coauthor of Death Roll


MURDERERS PREFER BLONDES

“A fast-paced, smart debut with a feisty heroine that entertains and keeps readers eagerly turning Paiges.” —The Mystery Reader

“Matetsky adeptly captures the atmosphere of the 1950s, and her characters— especially Paige and her friend Abby—are a delight. This journey back to a time that now seems innocent is refreshing.” —Romantic Times

“A fun new mystery series... a real page-turner... a delightful historical amateur sleuth tale.” —BookBrowser

“For anyone with nostalgia for the Fifties, this mystery will feed the memories. Matetsky fills the pages with white gloves, smoke-filled rooms, political incorrectness, Shirley Temple dolls and nickel telephone calls... and does it in fine style. The result is a truly delightful story.” —I Love a Mystery Newsletter


MURDER IS A GIRL’S BEST FRIEND

“Ms. Matetsky is a powerfully talented writer... with her multifaceted characters and her heroine’s healthy sense of humor, Ms. Matetsky will have you hooked within a few pages... our effervescent but self-doubting heroine [is] quite capable of asking a question, answering it and then arguing with herself all in the space of a few seconds! I loved this book. My thanks to the author and bring back Paige and Abby. Please!” —Roundtable Reviews

“ ... a very atmospheric novel with a daring heroine that is sure to please.” —The Mystery Reader

“This book is a great example of fun fiction that uses much of the style of film noir... Paige is a clever, interesting heroine who’s well-balanced by her Bohemian artist neighbor, Abby. This is an excellent book to read in any venue because it immediately transports the reader to New York in 1954.” —The Best Reviews

“December 1954 in Manhattan is a trip down memory lane and Amanda Matetsky captures the ambiance of the era to perfection. The heroine’s friend Abby makes a perfect crime-solving partner and some of their adventures are funny. Readers will thoroughly enjoy [this book] because of Paige, Abby, and 1950s New York.” —Midwest Book Reviews

“ ... Matetsky’s take on sex, the city, diamonds and death—’50s style. A delight with smart detail and appealing characters who are not your typical Cosmo girls.” — MysteryLovers.com


HOW TO MARRY A MURDERER

“Aside from the strong story lines, skillful character development, and numerous plot twists, the irresistible appeal of the Paige Turner series lies in its meticulous re-creation of the world of the 1950s—the sights and sounds, the musical and theatrical stars of the day, the dynamic political and social climate, the fashions, even the lingo (‘No way, Doris Day!’). If mystery fans enjoy their whodunits with generous helpings of wit and panache, Matetsky’s Paige Turner novels ought to be at the top of their ‘to-read’ list.” —The Barnes & Noble Review

“The author has successfully evoked the spirit of the people and the times of the 1950’s and New York. The characters are delightful, especially Paige who is hardworking, energetic, clever and funny... The plot is well constructed and well written. The action is swift with numerous hilarious situations. The reader is kept in suspense, never knowing who the murderer is.” —MyShelf.com

“New York in the 1950’s is mystery writer and crime reporter Paige Turner’s beat, and the spunky sleuth is back for a terrific third... Great series.” —MysteryLovers.com

“This is a great mystery. It leaves you on the edge of your seat and wanting more. In fact, it’s hard to stop reading it! Amanda Matetsky has great writing skills and it shows... I recommend this book to anyone who likes a good mystery.” —JudysBook.com

“A rich and satisfying story.” —The Romance Reader’s Connection

“This book grabbed me and held me right to the end.” —Roundtable Reviews


MURDER ON A HOT TIN ROOF

“Each installment in this charming series is a welcome addition. The author manages to make Paige both accurate for a woman in the 1950s, and a woman with whom modern readers can easily relate... As always, the mystery is both interesting and entertaining, with enough twists to satisfy any mystery reader.” —CA Reviews

“Some like it hot. Some like it cool. This one’s just right if you like a light mystery with lively characters, loads of offbeat charm and spirited hijinks... Amanda Matetsky invests her heroine with enough pluck, sincerity and charm to make this an entertaining ride.” —The Habitual Reader

“Paige is a delightful, irresistible, funny, and charming sleuth. She is witty and observant and Abby makes the perfect Watson to assist her. I found Amanda Matetsky’s knowledge of life in the 1950s interesting and informative... I enjoyed this book for its wit and likable characters. A good read with some good laughs.” —Gumshoe Review

“It is refreshing to be back in a time where good, old fashioned gumshoeing got the work done. Paige is a believable heroine whose teeth-gritting in the light of being a working girl in a man’s world will make the blood of any woman boil, while her antics with her free-spirited neighbor will have you laughing! This is a delightful book and every mystery reader will love to read on.” —Roundtable Reviews

“[The] banter is delightful and quick and moves the story along at a fast clip. . . From the first line to the last, the action never stops... The tale is pert and funny. I enjoyed the characters for their freshness and enthusiasm.” —MyShelf.com


DIAL ME FOR MURDER

“Readers of this delightful book who didn’t live during the 1950s may fail to fully appreciate the humor displayed in the use of many of the expressions. For those who did, it will bring back pleasant memories. The historical perspective is well done and the period depictions of the city make for a wonderful, atmospheric backdrop. With the plot being a nice blend of subtle comedy and light mystery, Dial Me for Murder will keep the reader engaged in the story and guessing until the very end.” —Mystery Books News

“Maybe things really weren’t simpler in the 1950s, and maybe it really wasn’t a charming, innocent time, but Matetsky makes it seem so. Add her smart, irresistible protagonist, Paige Turner, to the mix, and you’re home free for an entertaining, feel-good read.” —Romantic Times Book Reviews

“Dial Me for Murder is an exciting historical journalistic investigative tale starring a brave reporter used to being treated like a pariah for doing her job, so jumping into trouble is the heroine’s norm as that is life in the office. Filled with humor and insight from a zany cast that affirms we’ve come a long way since the days when the only acceptable professions for women were female unique jobs like wife, nurse, secretary and hooker, inside a fun whodunit.”—The Mystery Gazette

“It is refreshing to be back in a time where good, old fashioned gumshoeing got the work done. Paige is a believable heroine whose teeth-gritting in the light of being a working girl in a man’s world will make the blood of any woman boil, while her antics with her free-spirited neighbor will have you laughing! This is a delightful book and every mystery reader will love to read on.” —Roundtable Reviews

“[The] banter is delightful and quick and moves the story along at a fast clip. . . From the first line to the last, the action never stops... The tale is pert and funny. I enjoyed the characters for their freshness and enthusiasm.” —MyShelf.com


THE PERFECT BODY

“Lots of fun, and wonderful characters. My kind of book!” —Janet Evanovich

“Smart and sassy... a perfectly delightful read—a charming combination of mystery, romance, and fun.” —Faye Kellerman

“Annie March is the smartest, wittiest, sexiest and most likable amateur sleuth to come along in years... Fans of Susan Isaacs and Sue Grafton are going to love this novel.” —Tom De Haven, author of It’s Superman!

“The perfect read: deliciously scary, funny, and full of heart.” —Sandra Thompson, author of Wild Bananas

“The Perfect Body is lean, lithe, and full of curves. If you like your amateur sleuths funny and feisty, you’ll love Annie March.” —Jane Waterhouse, author of Dead Letter

“Matetsky’s debut has it all: vibrant characters, a style that sings, and a plot that never tricks or cheats.” —Sterling Watson, author of Deadly Sweet


THE SERIAL LOVER

“The Serial Lover has a grabber of an opening and a very engaging main character in the person of Annie March. This is a thoroughly enjoyable, refreshingly different, and delightfully humorous murder mystery—not to mention wickedly sexy. First rate—a terrific read.” —Nelson DeMille